And Now For Something Completely Different…

So, about a week ago I was supposed to be in Boston, MA for the MIT Knight Science Journalism Fellowship program’s 25th anniversary and three day conference on the Future of Science Journalism.  I couldn’t be there (long, unpleasant story), but Alfred Hermida was.

Hermida is a former BBC journalist, and he now teaches at the University of British Columbia.  He blogged about the conference, so I was able to almost feel like I was there.

He interviewed Clive Thompson (WIRED magazine columnist) about his blog and posted the short video online.  In the interview, Thompson suggests that he uses his blog to refine his ideas, using reader feedback to focus his writing.

Now, I’ve been looking for a good way to keep track of all my story ideas and pitches.  Random scraps of paper don’t work.  Neither do files named “Ideas January 2008” saved on my desktop.  So, I am going to give the blogosphere a look into my Ideas Vault.

If anyone out there sees a story they think I should know something more about, they would like me to write about, or whatever, leave a comment.

Let the grand experiment begin. 

Leave a comment